Topics in this article include:

About Student Preview

Access Student Preview

Use Student Preview

Exit Student Preview


About Student Preview

Faculty have the ability to see and experience their myLesley courses exactly as a student using Student Preview Mode. While in Student Preview mode, instructors can perform the following student activities: submit assignments, take tests, create blog posts, create journal and wiki entries and view student tools, such as My Grades. 



Access Student Preview

To enter Student Preview mode go into your course and click the Enter Student Preview button at the top of the page.


A yellow bar will appear at the top of your screen to let you know that you are in Student Preview mode.




Use Student Preview


Once you enter Student Preview mode Blackboard creates a new student account in your course, called yourusername_previewuser. All activities you perform while logged in to Student Preview are associated with this account, including submitting assignments, taking tests, posting on the Discussion Board, etc. 


See myLesley Student Resources for more information on how students experience myLesley.



Exit Student Preview

To exit Student Preview, click Exit Preview at the top of the page.


You will then be asked what to do with the preview user and all associated data.


Delete the preview user and all data:

Select this option if you are finished viewing the course as a student. Your preview user account and all associated data (submitted assignments, completed tests, etc.) will be deleted from the course.


Keep the preview user and all data:

Choose this option if you wish to retain the preview user account and associated data. For example, you went into Student Preview and submitted an Assignment and now wish to use your instructor account to practice grading the Assignment.



For more information on using Student Preview, see Student Preview or watch the Overview Video below.