Sharing VoiceThreads

Securing Sharing

Other Sharing Methods

Making a VoiceThread Public

Who Can See my VoiceThreads?

Unsharing














Sharing VoiceThreads

By default, all VoiceThreads are private. You will need to share your VoiceThread with others to allow them to view or comment. You may share your VoiceThreads privately with an individual or group, or you may share them publicly with a link or embed code. To find VoiceThreads that have been shared with you, see Finding VoiceThreads Shared With You.



Accessing the Sharing Area

To share your VoiceThread, go to the Sharing Area. The Sharing Area may be accessed from several places within VoiceThread.


From the VT Home page

Hover your mouse over the VoiceThread you wish to share. An pop-up will appear with information about the VoiceThread. Click on the Share button.




From the Create or Edit page

Navigate to the Create page for any VoiceThread that you created or can edit. Click on the Share button near the top of the page.




From an open VoiceThread

From within a VoiceThread, click on the menu in the top left-hand corner. Select Share.



Secure Sharing

A VoiceThread may be shared securely so that only specific people are allowed to view, comment, or edit. You may share VoiceThreads with individual contacts or groups of people. 


Sharing with an Individual

From the Sharing Area, go to the Secure tab and click on the Contacts tab. Select individuals you would like to share your VoiceThread with or click the Add Contacts button () to add a new contact. Next, select the editing rights (view only, comment, or edit). Click the Share button to notify them.



See Sharing With an Individual for more information. See Adding Contacts for more information on adding contacts.




Sharing with a Group

Sharing with a VoiceThread group is the quickest way to securely share your VoiceThreads with your classmates, students, or colleagues. For more information on creating and using groups, see VoiceThread Groups. Please note that students do not have the ability to create VoiceThread groups, but can share with groups their instructor has created.


From the VT Home Page, click and drag a VoiceThread towards the left side of the page. This will open your Groups menu if it is not already open. Drop your VoiceThread into the appropriate group.


You will then see a pop-up confirming the group and the level of access. Please note that each member of the group will have the same level of access (view, view & comment, edit).


Click Share to share with your group.


See Sharing With a Group for more information.



Other Sharing Methods

You may choose to share your VoiceThread outside of the VoiceThread environment via a share link or by embedding it in your course, a blog, or a website. You may also choose to make your VoiceThread public or restrict access by sharing only with certain individuals. 


Sharing via the Share Link

The Share Link is a direct link to your VoiceThread, allowing those you have shared with to directly access your VoiceThread. You may send this link via email or post it in your course, a blog, or a website. To obtain a share link, go to the Sharing Area and click on the Basic tab. Click the Copy Link button to copy the link to your clipboard.

Once you have copied the link you may then paste the link in an email, in a course, on a blog, etc. 


See Getting a Share Link for more information.



Embedding

Embedding a VoiceThread into a website, blog, or within your course will allow others to interact with your VoiceThread directly on the page. You may embed VoiceThread content anywhere that you are able to use HTML code. 


To obtain an embed code, go to the Sharing Area and click on the Basic tab. Then click on the Embed button. Check or uncheck the boxes to allow anyone to view or comment. 

Click the Copy Embed Code button to copy the code to your clipboard. You may then paste the code into an HTML editor on your blog, website, or myLesley course. Please note that only people you have shared the VoiceThread with will be able to view it, unless you make your VoiceThread public.


See Embedding for more information.


To embed your VoiceThread into myLesley, navigate to your myLesley course and locate the area in which you wish to embed. From the content/text editor, click the HTML button (third row, second from the right).


This will open the HTML Code View. Paste your embed code into the box and click Update.


Please note that in order for your embedded content to play in myLesley you may need to change any http in your code to https. This will ensure that it will play inside myLesley's secure connection.


For example the following embed code will NOT play correctly in myLesley: 

<iframe width="480" height="270" src="http://voicethread.com/app/player/?threadId=2659997" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>


Instead, you mush change the http in the code to https:

<iframe width="480" height="270" src="https://voicethread.com/app/player/?threadId=2659997" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>


Once you click Update you will be brought back to the text/content editor. You will now see a yellow box where your content has been embedded. This is normal and means that your content is there. 

Make any other changes to your item. Once you are done click the Submit button at the top or bottom of the page.


You should then see your VoiceThread embedded in your course.



Making a VoiceThread Public

From the Sharing Area, go to the Who Has Access tab. At the top of the window you will see the current publishing status of your VoiceThread. Click on the icon to change the settings. To make your VoiceThread public, select Anyone can comment or Anyone can view.


Click Save Changes to save any changes.


See Publishing a VoiceThread for more information.


Please note that selecting Publish on the browse page will make your VoiceThread visible to the entire Lesley community and searchable on the Browse tab. If you do not wish to have your VoiceThread viewable by the entire university, do not select this option.



Who Can See My VoiceThreads?

From the Sharing Area, go to the Who Has Access tab. Here you will see the publishing options as well as a list of individuals and/or groups who may access your VoiceThread.




Unsharing

After you have shared a VoiceThread you may change or revoke sharing access at any time. From the Sharing Area, go to the Who Has Access tab. Here you will see the publishing options as well as a list of individuals and/or groups who may access your VoiceThread. Click the X next to any person or group from which you would like to revoke access.

Click Save Changes to save any changes.


See Unsharing for more information.